Mobile Roadie artists win big at the 2011 AMA Awards

Posted on by


Last night, millions of people tuned in to watch some of the hottest names in the music industry perform on stage and win awards at the 2011 American Music Awards (AMAs) at the Nokia Theater at L.A. Live. From a visually-stimulating opening performance featuring Nicki Minaj and David Guetta to a jam-packed, eccentric finale from LMFAO with appearances from Justin Bieber and David Hasselhoff a.k.a. “The Hoff”, and everything else in between, the 2011 AMAs was a great night in music. The show was also a great night for Mobile Roadie as we watched some of our artists take home awards.

Taylor Swift topped the night with three awards, including Favorite Female Artist and Favorite Album under Country Music. But what sent her over the moon was winning her the most-coveted award of the night- Artist of the Year. Up against Adele, Lady Gaga, Lil Wayne, and Katy Perry, Taylor Swift ultimately took home the award thanks to her fans who voted for this music darling.

Adele won awards for Favorite Female Artist (Pop/Rock) and Favorite Artist (Adult Contemporary), jumping ahead of Lady Gaga, Bruno Mars, and Katy Perry. She also won for Favorite Album (Pop/Rock) with Adele/21.

Foo Fighters won the Favorite Artist award in Alternative Rock Music, beating out The Black Keys and Mumford & Sons.

Casting Crowns won for Favorite Artist in the Contemporary Inspirational category.

Joe Jonas presented Hot Chelle Rae with the Sprint New Artist of the Year award (Overall winner).

Image courtesy of ABC

After her performance of “The One that Got Away,” Katy Perry was presented with an AMA for Special Achievement for making music history as the first female artist in Pop Music to have five #1 songs from a single album. Katy Perry’s album Teenage Dream produced 5 #1 singles, including “Last Friday Night (T.G.I.F)”, “California Gurls”, “Firework”, “E.T.”, and “Teenage Dream.”

Congrats to all the winners.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *